Skip to content

Owen Hargreaves: He Fears His Good Fortune

July 9, 2012

Owen Hargreaves: unwanted, team-less and forgotten. The sad ballad resumes.

There was a glorious time
At an epoch of my prime;
Mornings beryl-bespread,
And evenings golden-red;
Nothing gray:
And in my heart I said,
“However this chanced to be,
It is too full for me,
Too rare, too rapturous, rash,
Its spell must close with a crash
Some day!”

The radiance went on
Anon and yet anon,
And sweetness fell around
Like manna on the ground.
“I’ve no claim,”
Said I, “to be thus crowned:
I am not worthy this:-
Must it not go amiss? –
Well . . . let the end foreseen
Come duly!–I am serene.”
–And it came.

“He Fears His Good Fortune”, by Thomas Hardy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

