Skip to content

Clarence Seedorf: Youth & Age

July 9, 2012

36-year old Dutch sensation Seedorf signs with Rio de Janeiro club Botafogo: a veteran footballer signaling a new age for the Brazilian league.

When I see the young men play,

Young methinks I am as they;

And my aged thoughts laid by,

To the dance with joy I fly:

Come, a flowery chaplet lend me;

Youth and mirthful thoughts attend me:

Age be gone, we’ll dance among

Those that young are, and be young:

Bring some wine, boy, fill about;

You shall see the old man’s stout;

Who can laugh and tipple too,

And be mad as well as you.

 

“Youth & Age”, by Anacreon (570 – 488 B.C.)

Translated by Thomas Stanley

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

