Skip to content

A Mended Man

October 20, 2011

Owen Hargreaves: from Manchester to Manchester. Winning!

Shattered tendons

Broken knees

Smashed spirit

Intact hope

 

Goodbyes here

Goodbyes there

Welcomes not to be found

Until now

 

Back from home

To the other home

Back on the grass

Surrounded by screams

 

Whistles and cheers

Boo-ings and clapping

Tears and smiles

Passes and kicks

 

It comes to me

Rolling perfectly

Smoothly and softly

Touching my feet

 

I send it away

Again

I breathe in and contract

I give everything I have

 

It flies and lands

And I run

I run because I can

No longer shattered

I can

 

A goal.

We win.

I win.

I’m back.

 

 

RB.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

